top of page
Lisa Sandlin


Lisa Sandlin is the author of The Do-Right, winner of the Shamus Award from the Private Eye Writers of America and the Hammett Prize from the International Association of Crime Writers. Her latest mystery thriller The Bird Boys is set in 1973 in the same town she was born, Beaumont, Texas, and was chosen by Marilyn Stasio as One of the Ten Best Crime Novels of the Year.

Her previous books are The Famous Thing About Death and Message to the Nurse of Dreams, Cinco Puntos Press; In the River Province, SMU Press; and You Who Make the Sky Bend, Pinyon Publishing. 

Lisa’s unique journey has reaped its rewards: an NEA Fellowship, the Jesse Jones award from the Texas Institute of Letters for Best Book of Fiction, a Dobie Paisano Fellowship, Violet Crown Award, Pushcart Prize, New Mexico Book Award, and the Christopher Hewitt Award for Fiction from A&U, America’s AIDS magazine. That story was for Brian. She is an emeritus professor from The Writer’s Workshop, University of Nebraska Omaha.

When you explore her books, don’t miss You Who Make the Sky Bend, a special collaboration with renowned New Mexican retablo artist Catherine Ferguson.


Inquiries about Ms. Ferguson’s wonderful retablos may be sent to Lisa Sandlin.


Lisa Sandlin You Who Make the Sky Bend
Bird Boys New.png
bottom of page